top of page
Search

Admirable or Ridiculous?


With everything that continues to take place these days, one could only imagine how angry I have been at the world. Angry, frustrated, and disappointed. But not surprised. Again, none of this is new. Oluwatoyin Salau and Breonna Taylor, both black women that matter. Repeat after me. BLACK WOMEN THAT MATTER. BLACK WOMEN MATTER. Yes. We do. We really do. All Black Lives do but right now let’s talk about black women.


This winter I struggled with being a black woman. I began thinking about my future and career and how unequipped and inadequate I may seem to some strictly because of my skin color and sex. Too often was I dismissed or gaslighted into thinking I was overreacting to how people responded to my skin color. I remember thinking “ I am black, and a woman. No matter how many degrees and certifications I receive will it be enough?” I remember thinking “What did we deserve to earn the bottom of the totem pole? The last on the food chain.” I feared working hard to reap such little benefit, I often questioned what the point was. I was always so puzzled. I’m surrounded by such honorable black women. My mother is one of my greatest inspirations, I swear to you she carries the world on her back but I’ve witnessed even her get the short end of the stick. Oluwatoyin spent her LAST DAYS speaking out for her people. ALL OF HER PEOPLE. All of us. Not just black men, not just black trans. Every single one of us.


You can call me bias all day long, but I have yet to be challenged that black women are the world’s strongest substance. We are the most powerful, adaptable, resilient, determined people to walk the earth I promise you.


I used to think “What’s the point?” The point is without us, without black women you are...

Without our culture. Without our nurturing. Without our building. Without our strength you are? Answer that for yourself. Too many hands on our time. Think about that. Admirable or ridiculous? That’s heroic if you ask me. Black woman reading this, you're doing God’s work. You matter. The world sucks at showing it but I dare you to think about a world without us and really let that sink in.


I could go on about this forever but I'll leave you with this if you're someone who needs to hear this, your negative actions and words towards black women are a product of your intimidation and inferiority complex. Bottom line, you recognize our power before we do. Thanks? But no thanks?

350 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Adapt or Die

What is love if not unconditional? If love exceeds time and space not without trial and tribulation but with expansion and insight then it is real, it is true. It is tangible. Because love is a lesson

Family Folklore, Me & My Momma

This interview with my mother took place two years ago in November. It was the very very beginning of several breakthroughs in our relationship. Although the feelings we had towards one another were v

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page