top of page
Search

A Mercy


As many of you know there have been multiple killings that have taken place recently within the black community. Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor, and George Floyd to name a few. The disregard for black lives has been an ongoing problem from the very moment the government was formed. In the words of Malcolm X, "You only need additional laws for someone who is not regarded as an American citizen." A friend of mine, Joshua Thornton, piggybacked on Malcolm's statement by saying this,"We are fighting for CIVIL RIGHTS that's not even EQUAL. We are fighting to be treated like a CIVIL person. That's what is astounding to me. We aren't asking for everybody to get a million dollars we just want to be seen as somebody who people respect. That's what this whole fight or cause is even based on. Just f-cking respect."


That being said, current events have been disheartening, discouraging, and devastating. Frankly, these past few days I've felt defeated, trapped, but I realized we have something they can't take away. Hope. What we should be prioritizing is what are our next steps are. Meaning all that talking and reposting we're doing on social media is wonderful, but let's keep that momentum. Let's bring that to life, through action. We know that change won't happen overnight so what is something everyone could do to get us a step in that direction?

In order to capture voices and perspectives other than my own I took the liberty of talking with a few people what they feel they can contribute to this revolution and here are some responses:

  • What changes long term and/or short term do you think you can make to stop the injustice inflicted on us? (African Americans)

"Spreading awareness and information that needs to be spread. I make sure to tell my counterparts to use empathy and their privilege. Organizing, I have access to guidance from older people who been there done that. Organizing and constructing some type of social media movement. Talking to highschoolers reaching out to the youth, teaching them how to be practical while also giving them hope. Encouraging them to use their voices. Understanding the importance of unity but also not letting myself be washed away. Recognize that this takes a toll on you. Social media takes a toll on you. I conserve my energy, not arguing with every twitter troll. Self-preservation, I'm a radical but I'm taking care of myself." - Trinity B. ig: @trinitae


  • What are long term and/or short terms actions you can take to combat injustice inflicted on African Americans?

"Some of the long term actions I take are just keeping myself and the people around me accountable and in check by strongly voicing my opinion and stance on important political issues regarding the black community. I try to keep people around me informed about what's going on and actively have those uncomfortable conversations about systematic racism, police brutality, and white supremacy based capitalistic values. I have been outspoken about issues I firmly believe in and an awareness of the anti-blackness that plagues the Asian community. I make a conscious effort in combating the model minority myth to be vocal in protesting the injustices that have been inflicted through speaking up on social media and avoid neutrality. Since I’m so far away and can’t be present to protest, I have just been keeping myself updated as the protest develops and I have also donated to the George Floyd foundation." - Ning Y. ig: @ning_bean

  • As a non-black person, how does it feel on the outside looking in? How does it affect you knowing your black friends' lives are at risk?

"As a POC looking in I feel so disheartened and upset but not surprised by the way the government is reacting to the uprising demanding for justice for George Floyd. I am aware that the U.S. s is being run by a white supremacist, but orders to shoot people on sight just seems too dystopic despite it being the reality. I am fuming and I want justice to be served, I want to see the black community win and the justice system reformed and for once work in their favor. Knowing that my black friends' lives are at risk is unsettling, and I am so angry I can’t guarantee you never have to have an unpleasant police run in and risking or losing your life because someone who is supposed to protect and serve you are scared of a comb or a phone." - Ning Y.


  • What are long term and/or short terms actions you can take to combat injustice inflicted on African Americans?

"I want to use my privilege and platform to amplify the cause. I have been signing petitions, donating, and urging others to do so as well. I feel like white people need to speak up because some white people will only listen to other white people. It's a sad reality but I'm willing to do whatever I need to for them to listen. I plan on attending local protests and events that support the cause. Lastly, I plan to stand by my black friends and do whatever I can to understand their hardships and ensure their safety."

- Kori C. ig: @korichandler

  • Do you know someone that has been directly affected by racism and/or police brutality? How does it affect you knowing your black friends' lives are at risk?

"I was just talking to my mom and white people can't even begin to understand the struggles that black people face. I even have family that is willfully ignorant, that alone is frustrating for me I can't even imagine how frustrating it is having to live through the ignorance and hate. It pains me that my black friends can't be or feel safe. I don't even understand how anyone can brush this off."

- Kori C.


I've been doing a lot of research and aside from signing petitions, donating, and raising awareness, there is much more to be done. Understanding and educating ourselves on the skeleton of our government is important as well as educating and encouraging our youth no matter the color; regardless of our origin it is our job to educate our young and teach them compassion. Here are a few links to websites and articles that may better help you grasp what's going on and find ways to support the cause:


- Petitions:


- Fundraisers:


- Educate ya self:





109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Adapt or Die

What is love if not unconditional? If love exceeds time and space not without trial and tribulation but with expansion and insight then it is real, it is true. It is tangible. Because love is a lesson

Family Folklore, Me & My Momma

This interview with my mother took place two years ago in November. It was the very very beginning of several breakthroughs in our relationship. Although the feelings we had towards one another were v

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page